Gluten-Free or Not? The Truth About Coffee Creamer


This is a question I get asked all the time: Is coffee creamer gluten-free? The short answer is yes, it can be. The long answer is that there are many different types of coffee creamers out there, and not all of them are gluten-free. Fortunately, if you need to avoid gluten or have Celiac disease or an intolerance to it, there are plenty of safe options out there for you!

The ingredients may be safe as long as they don’t contain maltodextrin.

If you’re concerned about maltodextrin, keep in mind that it’s a type of carbohydrate that is made from corn. It’s used to thicken, sweeten and give texture to foods. Maltodextrin can be made from corn, potato starch or rice–all gluten-free grains.

If your coffee creamer contains maltodextrin but doesn’t list any other ingredients on the label (like milk), then it’s safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity to consume as long as they don’t have an allergy to corn products

Some non-dairy coffee creamer brands use corn syrup instead of cane sugar.

Is Coffee Gluten-Free? (Revealed) – Coffee Witness

While cane sugar and corn syrup are both sweeteners, they’re made from different sources. Cane sugar comes from the juice of the sugarcane plant, while corn syrup is made by combining corn starch with enzymes to break down its structure into simple sugars. While some people may have an allergy or sensitivity to corn, others can consume it without issue–but you should still be aware that many brands use this ingredient in their non-dairy coffee creamers.

Soybean oil and sunflower seed oil are safe alternatives to dairy creamers.

If you’re looking for a dairy-free alternative to creamers, soybean oil and sunflower seed oil are safe alternatives. However, some creamer brands use maltodextrin as an ingredient and it’s best to check the label before purchasing one of these products.

Coconut milk is another common alternative, but it can be expensive compared to other dairy-free options.

10 Popular Dairy-Free Coffee Creamers, Ranked Worst To Best

Coconut milk is another common alternative, but it can be expensive compared to other dairy-free options. The average price for a 13-ounce can of coconut milk is about $1.50 (compared to about $0.25 for an 8-ounce carton of almond milk). However, coconut milk is a good substitute for dairy creamers because it has a similar texture and taste when used in coffee or tea–and if you’re looking to avoid soybean oil (which many creamers contain), then this is an excellent choice!

Coconut milk can also be used in smoothies, oatmeal and other recipes that call for liquids like water or broth; try using full fat coconut milk if possible since it will provide more nutrients than light versions

You can make your own creamer using sweeteners and vanilla extract or salted butters like Kerrygold.

If you’re looking for a healthier alternative to your usual coffee creamer, there are a few ways you can make your own at home. The first thing to do is pick out some sweeteners that work well with coffee. Sugar-free syrups like stevia or xylitol are two examples of sweeteners that will give you the right amount of sweetness without adding any unwanted calories or carbs. You can also use coconut milk as a substitute for dairy creamers–it works just as well!

Once you’ve chosen your favorite sweetener (or combination thereof), all that’s left is adding vanilla extract and salted butters like Kerrygold’s cultured butter product line. Add 1 tsp each of these ingredients per cup of hot brewed coffee and stir until blended evenly throughout before drinking up!

Coffee creamer isn’t always gluten-free, but there are plenty of options available for people with Celiac disease or intolerance, who need to avoid gluten in their diet.

Is Coffee Gluten-Free? (Not Always!)

As with many other foods, there are several different types of coffee creamer. Some varieties are gluten-free while others contain ingredients that may not be safe for people with Celiac disease or an intolerance to gluten.

While some brands offer only one type of creamer, others offer both dairy-based and non-dairy versions–and sometimes even both at once! If you’re looking for a specific type of cream or milk base, check out our list below:

  • Gluten-Free Options – There are several brands that produce 100% pure coconut milk creamer in addition to other options like almond milk and soybean oil (which is actually derived from peanuts). These products tend to be low in calories compared with traditional creamers but high in fat content because they contain no sugar substitutes like Splenda® or Equal® . However, if you’re looking for something more natural then this would be a good choice since there aren’t any chemicals added during production either!


After reading this article, you should have a good idea of what type of coffee creamer is best for your diet. If you’re looking for something that’s gluten-free and dairy-free, then coconut milk is probably your best bet. However, if you don’t mind having some soybean oil or sunflower seed oil in your morning cup of joe then there are plenty of options available at most grocery stores across America today!

Leave a Comment